Discovering Nantes and the region

So, it’s been a week and three days since I arrived in France. It has been absolutely unique and marvelous experience. Three days in Paris, that flew by, and yet I was able to accomplish so much. Sure, I haven’t seen the Eiffel Tower or the Arc du Triomphe, or other various sites, but I was able to see other parts of Paris that aren’t as far as I know, “tourist attractions”.

My journey has taken me to Nantes, where the city is quite petite and yet, so many things to do, so many interesting people and things to do. Although, I have to say that I personally have been to the biggest tourist attractions probably more than five times the average tourist and most definitely have got some “Nantians” beat. My sister herself has never been to the castle and she has lived here all her life.

Inside the castle walls… Chateau des Ducs de Bretagne

Inside the castle walls… Chateau des Ducs de Bretagne

The architecture in Nantes is quite diverse, as it has been at the frontline of import and export through their vast history of able waters and being so close to the Atlantic Ocean. 

Nantes itself is a city built on water and due to that fact, there is constant maintenance happening throughout the city in order to keep the buildings from sinking away beneath the city streets. One can clearly see the change in the buildings that are sinking and those that are more structurally supported.

Picture 4

Well, I can go on and on about the many things I’ve seen here, so I’ll only highlight a few of the most interesting things I have seen/done:

St Pierre

The Cathedral of Saint Pierre

The Great Elephant – which is a mecahnical creation inspired by Jules Vernes and Da Vinci:

The Great Elephant – which is a mecahnical creation inspired by Jules Vernes and Da Vinci

Les Rendez-vous de l’Erdre Jazz & Belle plaisance – An Inspired Jazz Festival:

It was a lot of fun and had many pretty colored lights as dusk approached.

The Beach at “La Baule”

La Baule

And the small almost intact fortified “city”  of Guerande that had many original facades and buildings.

Picture 10Picture 11Picture 12

I’ve had such a great time in Nantes and France and hope that there is much more in store as my time in France and Europe dwindles away.

— Adrian Estrada

Leave a Reply

